I-Q-I

She has recently been asking some interesting questions, for which it has been, let us say, ‘challenging’ to offer appropriate answers! Earlier this year there was…

“What was before the Big Bang?”

… and …

“Why is everything called what it is called?”

And on the 24th of May…

“In Heaven, can you actually, erm, go to the toilet?”

How do you answer that one?

The latest offerings are…

“Who decided that we would live on this planet?”

And finally for today…

“Why do we speak English?”

Before I log off, I am still pondering over a recent bath time discussion about cells and genes, which culminated in her asking how DNA knows what to tell the cells about what they should grow into and how it actually talks to the cells. I’m thinking it relates to evolution, natural selection and what have you, but how do you explain this stuff to a (very bright and curious) 5-year old? Answers on postcard! (or a comment will do)

– age 5 years 10 months 3 weeks 6 days

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. flandrumhill
    Jun 12, 2014 @ 11:33:24

    I’m half a century older than Talise and still wondering about these questions myself. My last search on Google was ‘salamander limb regeneration’ which offered all kinds of interesting information about cell differentiation. The more time I spend with 3-5 year old children, the more I see how they are keen scientific explorers. The majority of adults believe they already know all the answers and, in contrast to children, stopped asking the right questions years ago.

    Reply

    • pepsoid
      Jun 12, 2014 @ 12:18:09

      So true! Reminds me also of something else she said, which I forgot to include…

      “You should learn from children.”

      … which followed…

      “Why do grown ups always walk and not run?”

      Hmmm!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

